Letter from the PrincipalCarta de la Directora

Jennifer Kuyper Principal

Greetings East Aurora Students, Parents & Guardians, and Community,

Welcome to the 2022-2023 school year!

My name is Jennifer Kuyper, and I am honored to be the Principal at East Aurora High School. This year marks my 18th year in education – I have previously served the East Aurora community as the Associate Principal for School Improvement for the last three years. Prior to that, I worked at Thornton Township HS for 14 years as a teacher, instructional coach, and administrator.

On behalf of our entire staff, I would like to welcome you to East Aurora High School. We look forward to the new school year and are committed to partnering with you in the education of your students in a supportive and exciting school environment. We are proud of our school and all of our students’ accomplishments, both big & small. In order to support all of our students reaching their full potential, we work continuously to ensure challenging learning experiences for our students as well as to find different ways to support students in their social and emotional health.

The past two school years have been challenging in many ways, but we look forward to offering students fantastic learning opportunities as well as the chance to be involved in a plethora of activities, clubs, and athletics. Staying involved beyond school hours helps students to make meaningful connections with students and staff, keeps students active, and aids in helping us support the whole child and all of their interests outside the classroom.

As part of our partnership to ensure student growth & success, we ask that you speak to your student(s) about the importance of arriving to school and all of their classes on time as well as working to stay on top of school work and pass all courses. We have many opportunities for students to get help during office hours, after school tutoring, and other programs. Your student’s counselor can assist with any questions you might have with regards to helping your student be successful.

We strive to keep families informed of upcoming events via Infinite Campus phone blasts and text messages. If you need assistance logging in, please reach out to the main office at (630) 299-8000.

Parents and guardians – thank you for your partnership and continued support of both the school and of your student. Please feel free to reach out to me or any of the high school administrators should you have questions or need additional support.

Sincerely,

Jennifer Kuyper

Principal

EAHS Principal Welcome Letter PDF | ENG and SPAN

Please feel free to reach out to any of the HS administrators for assistance:

Jennifer Kuyper: Principal jkuyper@d131.org

Kevin Marten: Associate Principal for School Improvement kmarten@d131.org

Jennifer Brinkman: Assistant Principal for Teaching & Learning jbrinkman02@d131.org

Francisco de los Santos: Assistant Principal for Student Services fdelossantos@d131.org

Filberto Torres: Assistant Principal of Athletics/Activities – District Athletic Lead ftorres@d131.org

Jason Ward: Assistant Principal for Building Operations jward@d131.org

Division Chairs

Noel De La Mar: PE, Health, & Driver’s Ed | ndelamar@d131.org

Joseph Geocaris: English & Fine Arts | jgeocaris@d131.org

Katherine Harris: Special Education | kharris@d131.org

Kelly Henkel: World Cultures | khenkel@d131.org

Amy Martensen: Science, FACS, & Technology | amartensen@d131.org

Jacqueline Stone: Mathematics & Business | jstone@d131.org

Teresa Vemmer: ELL Bilingual | tvemmer@d131.org

Deans

Jesse Jones | jjones@d131.org

Walter Ornelas | wornelas@d131.org

Antonio Rios | arios01@d131.org

Stephanie Schmiesing | sschmiesing@d131.org

Derrick Smith | dsmith@d131.org

Jennifer Kuyper Principal
Saludos familias, tutores, estudiantes y comunidad de East Aurora,

¡Bienvenidos al año escolar 2022-2023!

Mi nombre es Jennifer Kuyper, y me siento honrada de ser la Directora de la Preparatoria East Aurora. Este año marca mi 18.° año en educación. Durante los últimos tres años serví la comunidad de East Aurora como Directora Asociada de Mejoramiento Escolar. Previamente, trabajé en la Preparatoria Thornton Township por 14 años como maestra, entrenadora de instrucción y administradora.

De parte de todo nuestro personal, me gustaría darles la bienvenida a la Preparatoria East Aurora. Estamos excitados para el nuevo año escolar y estamos comprometidos a trabajar en conjunto con usted en la educación de sus estudiantes en un ambiente escolar excitante y de apoyo. Estamos orgullosos de nuestra escuela y de todos los logros de nuestros estudiantes, tanto grandes como pequeños. Para ayudar a todos nuestros estudiantes a alcanzar su máximo potencial, trabajamos continuamente para garantizar experiencias de aprendizaje rigorosos para nuestros estudiantes, y encontrar diferentes formas de apoyar a los estudiantes en su salud social y emocional.

Los últimos dos años escolares han sido difíciles en muchos sentidos, pero esperamos ofrecer a los estudiantes oportunidades fantásticas de aprendizaje y la oportunidad de participar en una plétora de actividades, clubes y atletismo. Mantenerse involucrado más allá del horario escolar ayuda a los estudiantes a hacer conexiones significativas con los estudiantes y el personal, mantiene a los estudiantes activos y nos ayuda a apoyar al niño en su totalidad y todos sus intereses fuera del salón de clases.

Como parte de nuestra asociación para garantizar el crecimiento y el éxito de los estudiantes, le pedimos que hablen con sus estudiantes sobre la importancia de llegar a la escuela y a todas sus clases a tiempo, y trabajar para mantenerse al día con el trabajo escolar y pasar todos los cursos. Tenemos muchas oportunidades para que los estudiantes obtengan ayuda durante el horario de oficina, tutoría después de la escuela y otros programas. El consejero de su estudiante puede ayudarlo con cualquier pregunta que pueda tener con respecto a ayudar a su estudiante a tener éxito.

Nos esforzamos por mantener a las familias informadas sobre los próximos eventos a través de llamadas telefónicas, mensajes de texto, y Infinite Campus. Si necesita ayuda para iniciar sesión comuníquese con la oficina principal al (630) 299-8000.

Padres y tutores: gracias por su colaboración y apoyo continuo tanto a la escuela como a su estudiante. No dude en comunicarse conmigo o con cualquier de los administradores de la preparatoria si tiene preguntas o necesita ayuda adicional.

Sinceramente,

Jennifer Kuyper
Directora

Carta de bienvenida en inglés y español PDF

Please feel free to reach out to any of the HS administrators for assistance:

Jennifer Kuyper: Principal jkuyper@d131.org

Kevin Marten: Associate Principal for School Improvement kmarten@d131.org

Jennifer Brinkman: Assistant Principal for Teaching & Learning jbrinkman02@d131.org

Francisco de los Santos: Assistant Principal for Student Services fdelossantos@d131.org

Filberto Torres: Assistant Principal of Athletics/Activities – District Athletic Lead ftorres@d131.org

Jason Ward: Assistant Principal for Building Operations jward@d131.org

Division Chairs

Noel De La Mar: PE, Health, & Driver’s Ed | ndelamar@d131.org

Joseph Geocaris: English & Fine Arts | jgeocaris@d131.org

Katherine Harris: Special Education | kharris@d131.org

Kelly Henkel: World Cultures | khenkel@d131.org

Amy Martensen: Science, FACS, & Technology | amartensen@d131.org

Jacqueline Stone: Mathematics & Business | jstone@d131.org

Teresa Vemmer: ELL Bilingual | tvemmer@d131.org

Deans

Jesse Jones | jjones@d131.org

Walter Ornelas | wornelas@d131.org

Antonio Rios | arios01@d131.org

Stephanie Schmiesing | sschmiesing@d131.org

Derrick Smith | dsmith@d131.org