Letter from the PrincipalCarta de la Directora

November 22, 2022

Greetings East Aurora School Community,Jennifer Mitchell district photo (2)

Happy Thanksgiving! My name is Jennifer Mitchell and I am proud to be the Interim Principal at East Aurora High School effective Monday, November 28, 2022. Current principal Mrs. Jennifer Kuyper will move on to a new role. During my time at East Aurora School District 131 I have served as the Director of Mathematics and Interventions. A graduate from DePaul University, I earned a Bachelor’s of Science Degree in Mathematics with a Certification in Education. I then received a Master’s Degree in Educational Leadership from Governor’s State University and am currently enrolled in a Doctoral program through the University of Illinois at Chicago. With 23 years working in education my experience includes 14 years as a high school mathematics teacher, math coach, and team leader in addition to being an administrator for the last 9 years. I have enjoyed each and every experience along my journey and am looking forward to serving the entire EAHS Tomcat Community!

East Aurora High School provides each student with a rigorous and well-rounded education and a variety of learning opportunities to fit the needs of all students. It is my goal for the year to give students a sense of belonging, provide the supports needed to be successful, and to prepare them for future opportunities. By the end of students’ high school career, I want them to have numerous positive memories that last a lifetime and to proudly hold that diploma in their hand as they walk across the stage.

I greatly look forward to meeting parents in person at future events. I acknowledge that our parents are critical partners in our student’s success. Only through collaborative efforts and voice of all of our students, parents, staff, and community, can we help our students reach their full potential!

I am proud to be a part of the East Aurora High School team and look forward to a positive and successful remainder of the school year. If you have any questions, concerns, or need assistance please contact the school at 630-299-8000. Have a wonderful holiday season!

Sincerely,

Mrs. Jennifer Mitchell
Interim Principal,
East Aurora High School
jmitchell@d131.org

EAHS-Principal-Welcome-Letter-11.22.22

EAHS-Principal-Welcome-Letter-11.22.22 (Spanish)


Please feel free to reach out to any of the HS administrators for assistance:

Jennifer Mitchell: Interim Principal jmitchell@d131.org

Kevin Marten: Associate Principal for School Improvement kmarten@d131.org

Jennifer Brinkman: Assistant Principal for Teaching & Learning jbrinkman02@d131.org

Francisco de los Santos: Assistant Principal for Student Services fdelossantos@d131.org

Filberto Torres: Assistant Principal of Athletics/Activities – District Athletic Lead ftorres@d131.org

Jason Ward: Assistant Principal for Building Operations jward@d131.org

Division Chairs

Noel De La Mar: PE, Health, & Driver’s Ed | ndelamar@d131.org

Joseph Geocaris: English & Fine Arts | jgeocaris@d131.org

Katherine Harris: Special Education | kharris@d131.org

Kelly Henkel: World Cultures | khenkel@d131.org

Amy Martensen: Science, FACS, & Technology | amartensen@d131.org

Jacqueline Stone: Mathematics & Business | jstone@d131.org

Teresa Vemmer: ELL Bilingual | tvemmer@d131.org

Deans

Tenita Goza | tgoza@d131.org

Jesse Jones | jjones@d131.org

Walter Ornelas | wornelas@d131.org

Antonio Rios | arios01@d131.org

Stephanie Schmiesing | sschmiesing@d131.org

Derrick Smith | dsmith@d131.org

Jennifer Mitchell district photo (2)22 de noviembre

Saludos a la comunidad escolar de East Aurora:

¡Feliz Día de Acción de Gracias! Mi nombre es Jennifer Mitchell y estoy orgullosa de ser la directora interina de East Aurora High School a partir del lunes 28 de noviembre de 2022. La directora actual, la Sra. Jennifer Kuyper, pasará a un nuevo puesto. Durante mi tiempo en el Distrito Escolar 131 del Este de Aurora, he servido como Directora de Matemáticas e Intervenciones. Me gradué de DePaul University, donde obtuve una licenciatura en matemáticas con una certificación en educación. A continuación, obtuve una maestría en liderazgo educativo de Governor’s State University y actualmente estoy inscrita en un programa de doctorado en la University of Illinois at Chicago. Con 23 años de trabajo en la educación, mi experiencia incluye 14 años como maestra de matemáticas de preparatoria, entrenadora de matemáticas y líder de equipo, además de ser administradora durante los últimos 9 años. He disfrutado de todas y cada una de las experiencias a lo largo de mi carrera y estoy deseando servir a toda la comunidad Tomcat de la EAHS.

East Aurora High School proporciona a cada estudiante una educación rigurosa y completa y una variedad de oportunidades de aprendizaje para satisfacer las necesidades de todos los estudiantes. Mi objetivo para este año es dar a los estudiantes un sentido de pertenencia, proporcionarles los apoyos necesarios para tener éxito y prepararlos para futuras oportunidades. Al final de la carrera de preparatoria de los estudiantes, quiero que tengan muchos recuerdos positivos que duren toda la vida y que lleven con orgullo ese diploma en la mano al cruzar el escenario.

Espero poder conocer a los padres en persona durante futuros eventos. Reconozco que nuestros padres son socios fundamentales en el éxito de nuestros estudiantes. ¡Sólo a través de los esfuerzos colaborativos y la voz de todos nuestros estudiantes, padres, personal y comunidad, podemos ayudar a nuestros estudiantes a alcanzar su máximo potencial!

Estoy orgullosa de formar parte del equipo de East Aurora High School y espero que el resto del año escolar sea positivo y exitoso. Si tiene alguna pregunta, duda o necesita ayuda, póngase en contacto con la escuela llamando al 630-299-8000. ¡Que tengan felices fiestas!

Sinceramente,

Sra. Jennifer Mitchell
Directora Interina
East Aurora High School
jmitchell@d131.org

EAHS-Principal-Welcome-Letter-11.22.22

EAHS-Principal-Welcome-Letter-11.22.22 (Spanish)


Please feel free to reach out to any of the HS administrators for assistance:

Jennifer Mitchell: Principal jmitchell@d131.org

Kevin Marten: Associate Principal for School Improvement kmarten@d131.org

Jennifer Brinkman: Assistant Principal for Teaching & Learning jbrinkman02@d131.org

Francisco de los Santos: Assistant Principal for Student Services fdelossantos@d131.org

Filberto Torres: Assistant Principal of Athletics/Activities – District Athletic Lead ftorres@d131.org

Jason Ward: Assistant Principal for Building Operations jward@d131.org

Division Chairs

Noel De La Mar: PE, Health, & Driver’s Ed | ndelamar@d131.org

Joseph Geocaris: English & Fine Arts | jgeocaris@d131.org

Katherine Harris: Special Education | kharris@d131.org

Kelly Henkel: World Cultures | khenkel@d131.org

Amy Martensen: Science, FACS, & Technology | amartensen@d131.org

Jacqueline Stone: Mathematics & Business | jstone@d131.org

Teresa Vemmer: ELL Bilingual | tvemmer@d131.org

Deans

Jesse Jones | jjones@d131.org

Walter Ornelas | wornelas@d131.org

Antonio Rios | arios01@d131.org

Stephanie Schmiesing | sschmiesing@d131.org

Derrick Smith | dsmith@d131.org